Kick-Ass

The most recent film I’ve seen and not at all the type I usually go for. I first watched it with my boyfriend (his choice unsurprisingly!) but I enjoyed it so much I bought it for my brother for Christmas. He and my Dad both enjoyed it, or so the snorts of laughter would suggest.

It was not at all what I expected, although I’m not sure what I expected in the first place – I’d imagined some sort of cross between Superbad and Spiderman. But there were no radioactive spiders in this, just a teen called Dave who decides to save the World, buys a wetsuit and wears it in public. It’s based on the 2008-2010 comic book series of the same name, which is published by Marvel and is directed by Matthew Vaughn ( Producer of Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels and Snatch).

The film is surprisingly easy to relate to whilst being completely unrealistic. The star of the film, in my opinion, is actually the young girl Mindy or ‘Hit-Girl’. She is what made the film original – how many times have you seen a eleven year old school girl kill five men with a spear in the space of a minute. The film came under strong criticism, not for the violent scenes in which Mindy is featured but for the strong language used by the character.

My rating: 8/10

Released – 2010      Certificate – 15                 117 minutes

Cast:
Aaron Johnson – Dave/Kick-Ass
Nicholas Cage – Big Daddy
Chloe Moretz – Mindy/Hit-Girl
Christopher Mintz-Plasse – Red Mist

Kick-Ass 2 is in post-production and is due for UK release on 19 July 2013.

Leave a Reply

